My Tickets
The Ticket Merchant is a secondary ticket marketplace | Prices may be above or below face value
The Ticket Merchant
  • 0
    • No products in the cart.

Ashes Cricket Tickets

Ashes Cricket Tickets. The 2017/2018 Ashes will soon be here . The Ashes 2017/18 will take place between November 2017 and January 2018 in various grounds around Australia. Five venues will host the 2017/18 Ashes Series: The Gabba, Adelaide Oval, WACA Ground, MCG and SCG. Buy your Ashes Cricket Tickets today from The Ticket Merchant – no, fees, safe, secure and 100% guaranteed!

The Ashes is a five Test cricket series played between rivals England and Australia, hosted in turn by the respective countries at least once every four years.

The Ashes gained its name after Australia’s victory over England in the 1882 test series. British Newspaper The Sporting Times published a satirical obituary, stating that English Cricket had died and its “body will be cremated and the ashes taken to Australia”.  In response, English captain at the time Ivo Bligh vowed to “regain those ashes”.  From that moment on, the tour was dubbed as the quest to regain the Ashes. During the tour a group of Melbourne women presented Bligh with a small urn containing the “ashes”. It is believed that the contents of the urn are the ashes of an item of cricket equipment.

Since the 1998–99 Ashes series, a Waterford Crystal representation of the Ashes urn is presented to the winners of an Ashes series as The Ashes Trophy.

England currently holds the Ashes, after winning three of the five Tests in the 2015 Ashes series. Australia and England have won 32 series each and have drawn five. Ashes Cricket tickets for all test matches can be purchased directly from The Ticket Merchant.